Archdeacons Introduction

The Ven Dr Paul Wright
Archdeacon of Bromley & Bexley

The Ven Andrew Wooding Jones
 Archdeacon of Rochester
The Ven Julie Conalty
    Archdeacon of Tonbridge      

There are 3 archdeaconries covering the whole Diocese of Rochester:

Each archdeaconry contains a number of deaneries and is overseen by an archdeacon. To find a full list of Area Deans and appropriate contacts for each archdeaconry, please click on the links above. 

The Archdeacons serve under the Bishop in looking after a large part of the Diocese. They are a source of advice, guidance and support to the bishops, clergy, churchwardens and the people of the parishes. They admit churchwardens into office each year at the annual Visitation and ensures that parishes look after their church buildings. 

The Archdeacons also help with the appointment of parish clergy. They sit on the key committees of the Diocese. They do not have their own parish but travel around the very many parishes of their Archdeaconry.

Copyright 2015 © The Diocese of Rochester. Registered Office: St Nicholas’ Church, Boley Hill, Rochester, Kent, ME1 1SL. Registered Charity No. 249339 The Rochester Diocesan Society and Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee. Registered in England No. 140656