Archdeacon of Bromley & Bexley

The Ven Dr Paul Wright

Archdeacon of Bromley & Bexley
I have been in post since December 2003. 
To contact me, please speak to my PA, Fiona Porter (details below).

The Archdeaconry is made up of two London Boroughs (Bromley and Bexley) and is co-terminus with one of the Greater London Authority Districts. Furthermore, it is set within the Metropolitan Police area. This makes it quite distinct from other parts of the Diocese of Rochester, in terms of governance and policing, etc.

Geographically it is the smallest of the three Archdeaconries, but has a population of over 520,000 people.  This means that approximately 40% of the total population of the Diocese lives in this Archdeaconry.  However a good many of the residents commute to Central London, where they work in the public, private and voluntary sector.

The Archdeaconry is made up of five deaneries.  Some of the churches have extremely large attendance, whereas others have a much smaller gathered community.  From the rural setting of Cudham and Downe to the very urban parishes such as Penge or Cray Valley (which includes one of the largest traveller communities in northern Europe), Bromley still has a very suburban feel about it.  Bexley Borough, for its part, has areas of social need in the northern part of the Borough, but includes Hall Place which is a very pleasant public park with the River Cray running through it.

Within the Bromley Borough there are three deaneries:

Area Dean - The Rev Canon Jeremy Blunden

Area Dean - The Rev Canon Victoria Pask

Area Dean -  The Rev John Musson

Within the Bexley Borough there are two deaneries:

Area Dean - The Rev Adam Foot


The Rev Mell Jemmett

For clergy looking at any vacant parishes, please visit the vacancy section of the website or contact my office:

Other useful information:

Archdeaconry Convenor for Self Supporting Ministers
The Rev Dr Margaret Wilkinson

Deputy Warden of Lay Ministry
Mrs Miriam Giles

Deputy Warden of Lay Ministry
Mr Mark Newman

For schools (both primary and secondary) please visit the Diocesan Board of Education web pages.


PA to Archdeacon Paul Wright
Fiona Porter
Tel: 020 8467 8743 / 07768 237328 (Mon-Fri, 9am to 3pm)

Copyright 2015 © The Diocese of Rochester. Registered Office: St Nicholas’ Church, Boley Hill, Rochester, Kent, ME1 1SL. Registered Charity No. 249339 The Rochester Diocesan Society and Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee. Registered in England No. 140656