Boards, Councils & Committees

The Boards, Councils and Committees of the Diocese are constituted under various legislation and other requirements in support of the work of the Diocese.

The Diocesan Synod and the Diocesan Board of Finance
The Diocesan Synod is the main policy-making body of the Diocese and the forum for the discussion of issues important in diocesan life.

All members are also members of the Diocesan Board of Finance, which is responsible for the custody and management of diocesan finances.

The Diocesan Board of Finance aims to finance the mission of the Church in this Diocese through the re-distribution of funding from Parish Share, and the application of other resources and investment income wherever possible.

Parish Share is an approach to provide mutual support from right across the Diocese in order to ensure that the ministry of the Church can be provided in every place.

The members of the Bishop’s Council are the Directors of the Board of Finance.

The Bishop’s Council and Standing Committee
The Bishop’s Council is the Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod.  It plans the business of the Synod, advises it, and transacts its business when not in session.  The Bishop’s Council advises the Bishop, appoints members to various committees and formulates, discusses and co-ordinates policies relating to the life and work of the Diocese.

Diocesan Secretary
Matthew Girt
Tel: 01634 560000

The Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee
The Mission and Pastoral Committee is constituted to keep the arrangements for pastoral care under review. Suggestions for change may come from the parishes, the Bishop, the Deanery or the Committee itself.  The Committee receives reports from the Archdeaconry Mission and Pastoral Committees and will consult with interested parties about proposed changes.  When sufficient consultation has taken place it makes a recommendation to the Bishop who, in turn, may adopt and take forward the recommendation.

Suzanne Rogers

Pastoral & Synodical Administrator

Suzanne Rogers

Tel:  01634 560000


Provides the secretariat for the Diocesan Synod and Bishop’s Council, and also manages the processes for Pastoral Schemes and other such developments.  Alongside this she is now taking on the administration of clergy appointments and related matters, liaising with the archdeacons and others.

The Finance Committee (A sub-committee of the Bishop’s Council)
The Finance Committee is a sub-committee of the Bishop’s Council which is advisory to the Bishop’s Council and also has delegated powers in relation to some of the financial arrangements for the Diocese.

The Property Advisory Group (A sub-committee of the Finance Committee)
The Property Advisory Group supports the Property Team dealing with parsonage and diocesan houses, and other property related schemes. The Property Advisory Group is also responsible for identifying alternative uses for consecrated church buildings that have been closed for regular public worship.  The committee explores all possibilities through its secretariat at the Diocesan Office.

Mark Trevett Diocesan Surveyor
Mark Trevett

Tel: 01634 560000


The Board of Education
Each Church of England diocese is required by law to set up a Board of Education whose function is to look after the interests of its Church schools.  Diocesan Boards of Education work with head teachers, governors, Local Education Authorities and the Department for Education and Skills to uphold and enrich the distinctive contribution of Church schools to the State education system.  The Rochester Diocesan Board of Education is a company limited by guarantee, separately incorporated from the Diocesan Board of Finance.


The Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches
The Committee’s primary function is to advise the Chancellor on all applications for permission to carry out works on/to churches and churchyards.  Parishes are encouraged to contact the Committee via the Secretary prior to making any application for faculty or other permission.

All the members of the Committee are committed to the mission of the church in the local context.  They are experts in some relevant discipline relating to historic buildings, or have a particular interest in the care or use of church buildings.  As such the Committee is well able to offer helpful advice to parishes seeking to maintain their properties or to adapt, extend or improve them.

Members serve on the Committee without payment and advice is free to parishes.

Sarah Anderson DAC Secretary
Sarah Anderson

Tel: 01634 560000


Diocesan Board of Patronage
The Diocese of Rochester has a number of livings in the Diocese in its gift and the Diocesan Board of Patronage is responsible for nominating a priest to the Bishop when a vacancy arises.

Vacancy in See Committee
The Vacancy in See Committee meets when the existing Bishop retires or moves on in orderto make recommendations about a successor.

Copyright 2015 © The Diocese of Rochester. Registered Office: St Nicholas’ Church, Boley Hill, Rochester, Kent, ME1 1SL. Registered Charity No. 249339 The Rochester Diocesan Society and Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee. Registered in England No. 140656